Green Dragon Bagua Zhang|Interesting person: part one|K. Betz Photography

So, remember when I asked y’all if you knew some pretty cool people in your life who did crazy things or had a sweet talent? Well, I’ve been DYING to share with the world a few of the ones that I know…

Image

 

Meet Matthew. The ninja. Yes, he’s really a ninja. It’s cool, right? 
I had the lovely opportunity of photographing his Traditional Chinese Internal Martial Arts school, also known as Green Dragon Bagua Zhang more than once! I also got the privilege of getting to interview him and learn a little bit more about it in detail, other than being a complete bad ass.  READY?! 

Hello Matt!
– Hello Kaitlyn Betz, how are you doing today? ( side note: he greets me this way every morning. I enjoy it.)

Just peachy. Ready to talk about ninja stuff?
– I am always ready to talk about the martial arts. 

What got you interested in the Martial Arts/how long have you been doing this for?
– I will spare you from saying, I was born this way. I blame the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. I have been doing this long enough to know I have much to learn but I have been teaching for 4 years. 

Can you tell me how you got started with Green Dragon Bagua Zhang?
– I studied under a man by the name of Jack Davis at the Chi’en Institute of Internal Martial Arts. After I got my teaching credentials it became time to form the school. Green Dragon Bagua Zhang became that school. 

What exactly do you do/teach at the school and how can it help people with their everyday life?
 – Traditional Chinese Martial Arts that include Bagua Zhang, Dim Mak Kuen, and Taiji Quan. These are Taoist Martial Arts, so Taoist principles are also included. Because Chinese Martial Arts covers many topics, you can say that I teach many things. 
    Within the Martial ArtsI teach forms that benefit: health, flexibility, stress reduction. For Self defense we work with pressure points, joint locks, striking, kicking, throwing, weapons, weapon defense, and defense against multiple attackers. A key component for any Martial Arts program is fitness. The forms themselves serve as a cardiovascular activity, increase endurance and flexibility. Outside of forms, we also do standard exercises, push-ups, crunches, etc and also kettle-bell work outs.
     Chinese Martial Arts are all steeped in the philosophies of China. The Internal Martial Arts being focused on Taoism. So naturally, I talk about and show Taoist principles that include the understanding your inner nature, improved diet, stress free living and absolute happiness. I think that each of these is valid for everyday living. 🙂 

Thanks for sharing Matt! Don’t forget to check out K. Betz Photography on Facebook for a look at my most recent session with the school! COMING SOOON! 

 

 

If you are interested in joining the school contact:
Matthew Barrett; Martial Arts Consultant.
GreenDragonBaguaZhang.com
Twitter: @DragonBagua
Facebook: Facebook.com/greendragonbaguazhang
Matthew.R.Barrett@gmail.com

 

 

 

HAPPY HUMP DAY KITTENSS! 😀

 

Leave a comment